Welcome to the Cochise County Historical Society!

The Cochise County Historical Society was formed to promote the study of history in Cochise County; to gather and protect facts about the past; to publish or make available the information obtained by the society; and to maintain and operate a research center.

The Cochise County Historical Society was founded in 1966 and was incorporated under the laws of the State of Arizona on September 13, 1968. Its tax-exemption status is a 501(c) 3 of the Internal Revenue Service and was granted on December 17, 1971.

Cochise County was created on February 1, 1881, when it was annexed out of the eastern portion of Pima County. It takes its name from the legendary Chiricahua Apache chief Cochise and is the only county in Arizona named after an individual Indian. The first county seat was Tombstone until 1929, when it was moved to Bisbee. Cochise County consists of 6,219 square miles.

To say that Cochise County is rich in history is an understatement. From the Paleo-Indians to the Spanish explorers, from the Mexican settlers to the Chiricahua Apaches, from the early Anglo pioneers to the vibrant citizens of today, Cochise County history has something of interest for everyone. In addition to Cochise, names such as Wyatt Earp, Geronimo, Doc Holliday, Naiche, John Slaughter, Rex Allen, Billy Fourr, Nellie Cashman, Tom Jeffords and many others all add color to our famous county.

The Cochise County Historical Society: “To Preserve the Past for the Future.”