About the Cochise County Historical Society

Mission Statement

To gather, preserve, and promote the study and preservation of the historical heritage of Cochise County, Arizona, as well as to make available the facts of the past, and to publish or otherwise disseminate the information obtained by the society.

Current Leadership


  • President

    Bill Cavaliere Portal

  • Vice-President

    Craig McEwan Apache

  • Secretary

    Karen Riggs Elgin

  • Treasurer

    Cindy LaRussa Portal

Board of Directors

  • Lea Dodge Douglas
  • Libby Hale Warren
  • Doug Hocking Sierra Vista
  • Kathy Klump Willcox
  • Rebecca Orozco Bisbee
  • Bill Pakinkis Tombstone
  • Margaret Bemis Double Adobe
  • Linda Shaver Willcox
  • Ray Shelton Douglas
  • George Van Otten, PhD Sierra Vista
  • Ruth Van Otten Sierra Vista